National & World News

We are safe! Asteroid 2012 DA 14 passes earth

(CNN) — The asteroid 2012 DA14 has made its closest approach to Earth, at a distance of about 17,200 miles above the planet’s surface, NASA says.

Video description
NASA Latest Update-2012 DA 14 as Seen from Gingin Observatory Spots Near-Earth asteroid This movie shows the asteroid 2012 DA14 flying safely by Earth, as seen by the Gingin Observatory in Australia at 9:50 am PST (12:50 pm EST/17:50 UTC), Feb. 15, 2013. At the time of its closest approach to Earth, at approximately 11:25 am PST (2:25 pm EST/19:25 UTC), the asteroid will be about 17150 miles (27600 kilometers) above Earth’s surface. The asteroid appears streaked because the telescope was focused on the stars while the asteroid passed through the field of view. Image courtesy of Gingin Observatory/Tonello

VIEW & ADD COMMENTS

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Advertisement

Advertisement