Maryland’s strict new gun law quietly went into effect today, October 1. The law Firearm Safety Act 2013 requires gun buyers pay a $50 registration fee, submit their fingerprints to obtain a handgun qualification license. The law limits handgun magazine to 10 rounds and adds 45 semi-automatic guns to a list of banned weapons including the popular AR-15, AK-47 and M1A. Hunting rifles and shotguns are exempted. In addition only one firearm can be purchased every 30 days.
A last minute lawsuit aimed at stopping the new law from going into effect was turned aside by a federal judge.
To read more about Maryland’s new gun law click here.