Controversy over State Park reservations -Tonight on FOX43 News At Ten

Oxbow beats Orb to win Preakness

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.



The Triple Crown will have to wait another year.

Orb, the Kentucky Derby winner, was beaten in today’s Preakness at Pimlico Race Course by Oxbow.

The last Triple Crown was won by Affirmed in 1978. All together 11 horses have won Triple Crowns.

Since 1978, it’s been an elusive milestone. Twelve horses have won the first two legs since 1978, but either didn’t win or weren’t able to run in the Belmont. Last year, I’ll Have Another won the Derby and Preakness, but was withdrawn the day before the Belmont with an injured tendon.

The Belmont will be run on June 8 in Elmont, N.Y.

The above article provided by the Chicago Tribune.