Honoring first responders in Harrisburg

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Local first responders received special recognition for their outstanding service.

The Dauphin County Commissioners honored three first responders today in Harrisburg with the 2014 Craig Webb Memorial Award for their life-saving efforts. The award is given to a firefighter, a paramedic, and a law enforcement official who embody the spirit of the late Craig Webb. Webb was a longtime paramedic who died suddenly during the 2004 holiday season.

Harrisburg Officer Daniel Peiper received the "Law Enforcement Officer of the Year" award. In 2013,  Peiper was seriously injured, along with his canine, Thor, when a suspect crashed into his police vehicle. He continues to work for the police department and recover from his injuries.

"The fact that there are hundreds of men and women out there who get up every day, put their boots on-- EMS, fire, and police-- that deserve this award, and to decide to pick me out of all of them... It`s very humbling and I`m very honored," Officer Peiper said.

Don Konkle, former chief of the Harrisburg Bureau of Fire, received the Fire and Rescue Leader of the Year Award.  EMS Provider of the Year was awarded to Bradley DeLancey, chairman of the Dauphin County Emergency Medical Services Council.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.