Next Phase in Flood Insurance Program

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Dauphin County Commissioners discussed the next phase of a program that will reduce flood insurance programs.  19 municipalities have signed up for a flood program offered by Tetra Tech.  Homeowners in the community are currently paying $4.5 million in annual premiums.  Through the new program, each municipality will go through a rating system.  Based on that rating, people could see discounts between five and 45%.  Municipalities that have signed up for the program include: Susquehanna, Swatara, Derry Middle Paxton, Londonderry, Lower Paxton, Lower Swatara, Upper Paxton, East Hanover, West Hanover, Halifax and Mifflin townships; and Steelton, Lykens, Paxtang, Royalton, Millersburg, Hummelstown, and Halifax boroughs. Considering joining is Middletown and Harrisburg, which is already enrolled in the rating system and whose residents receive a 20% discount.

1 Comment

  • OneMan'sOpinion

    Does this mean less taxpayer assistance will be needed for people who insist on rebuilding in flood-prone areas?
    How come I don’t hear about major opposition to this required insurance program yet the Affordable Healthcare Act requirement gets so much negative publicity?

Comments are closed.