New board established for Lancaster Catholic High School

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

LANCASTER, PA (WPMT)  The Diocese of Harrisburg and Lancaster Catholic High School has established a new organizational structure that provides for a School Board of Directors with specific responsibilities of oversight, general management and governance of the school.

The actions of the board are subject, in certain areas, to the approval and guidance of the Pastoral Members of the school, who are the pastors of each of the Lancaster Deaneries’ parishes. Then, as delineated in the Code of Canon Law, the entire structure is under the supervision and leadership of the Most Reverend Bishop Ronald W. Gainer of the Diocese of Harrisburg.

The Pastoral Members chose and proposed the new Lancaster Catholic Board of Directors on November 20, 2014 and Bishop Gainer approved the members on December 19, 2014. The new Board of Directors is comprised of the three priests and five lay members that follow:

Rev. David L. Danneker (St John Neumann), Very Rev. Steven W. Fauser, V.F. (St Peter Catholic Church) Very Rev. Peter I. Hahn, V.F. ’74, who is currently serving as Chair of the Board (St Leo the Great), Mr. Gerry Ganse ’67, Mr. Sam Kirchner ’69, Mrs. Donna Matuzak ’73, The Honorable Jeffrey Reich, and Mr. Jeffrey Tearpock.
“These are new and exciting times for the Lancaster Catholic community,” said Hahn. “With a new structure and a new vision, the legacy of educating the young men and women of Lancaster Catholic in the ways of the world and the ways of faith continues.”

Lancaster Catholic High School, established in 1928, is a Catholic co-educational diocesan secondary school that offers a quality education that helps students integrate their faith with the knowledge they acquire and the skills they develop, so they may serve the community as responsible adults.