School Closings
Here’s how you can help those affected by the California wildfires

Poll: Do you agree with PA’s new child rear-facing seat requirements until age 2?

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

A rear-facing baby seat properly installed in compact car.

Motorists in Pennsylvania must now make sure car seats face backward for all children until they’re 2 years old. The requirement is part of a new state law that went into effect today.

According to The American Academy of Pediatrics, the organization updated its guidelines for child passenger safety. The recommendation is for rear-facing car seats use for one year of age and 20 pounds in weight to a minimum of two years of age or until a child has outgrown the weight and height limits of their rear-facing seat.

Pennsylvania’s new law directs police to issue warnings for the first year, after which violations will cost $125 in fines, costs and fees. The measure makes Pennsylvania the fourth state to enact rear-facing child seat regulations for the youngest of children after California, New Jersey and Oklahoma.

Advocates say facing children toward the back of the car dramatically lowers their risk of death or serious injury during crashes.

Do you agree with PA’s new child rear-facing seat requirements until age 2?