9 college-bound seniors earn scholarships in Metzger Wickersham Road to Safety Scholarship Contest

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

HARRISBURG — Nine college-bound Pennsylvania high school seniors earned scholarships in the 5th annual Metzger Wickersham Road To Safety Scholarship Contest, the law firm announced Thursday.

The contest encourages graduating, college-bound high school seniors to enter a creative project about the dangers of drunk driving and/or distracted driving. Metzger Wickersham’s goal in hosting the contest is to spread awareness about the safety issues facing teens on the road today, the firm said in its announcement.

“As injury lawyers, we see the damaging effects of texting while driving and drunk driving accidents every day. We feel compelled to promote public awareness about the consequences of risky driving behaviors,” said Metzger Wickersham attorney Andrea Cohick. “The scholarship is a way for us to give back to the community while getting teens involved in spreading the word about these important societal issues.”

Students were asked to come up with a memorable, innovative and effective way to motivate drivers to be more safety-conscious behind the wheel. Throughout the 2017 school year, seniors throughout Pennsylvania submitted a variety of original entries, such as videos, posters and essays, for their chance to win college scholarship money.

The following students were chosen as winners in the 2017 Road to Safety Scholarship Contest:

First Place Winners (Prize: $1,000 Scholarship)
Damon Deck of Landisville, PA – Hempfield High School
Emily Hare of Friendsville, PA – Montrose Area High School
Kyla Brezitski of Harrisburg, PA – Bishop McDevitt High School

Second Place Winners (Prize: $750 Scholarship)
Eric Herb of Jonestown, PA – Northern Lebanon High School
Kevin Tang of Mars, PA – North Allegheny High School
Paige Hepner of Shamokin Dam, PA – Selinsgrove Area High School

Third Place Winners (Prize: $500 Scholarship)
Alyssa Rose Menko of Kulpmont, PA – Mount Carmel Area High School
Corinne Youngberg of Stevens, PA – Cocalico High School
Lily Kondrat of Stroudsburg, PA – Stroudsburg High School

Please visit https://arrivealivepa.com/winners/2017-winners/ to view the winner submissions.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.