MLB Wild Card Games recaps & postseason schedule

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

PHOENIX, AZ - OCTOBER 04: Chris Herrmann #10 and Brandon Drury #27 of the Arizona Diamondbacks celebrate with teammates after defeating the Colorado Rockies 11-8 in the National League Wild Card game at Chase Field on October 4, 2017 in Phoenix, Arizona. (Photo by Christian Petersen/Getty Images)

The MLB Postseason is underway, and both Wild Card games were wild.

Here is a recap of the games and the schedule as the postseason moves forward:

AL WILD CARD GAME – Minnesota Twins v New York Yankees

The Twins got off to a hot start, as leadoff hitter 2B Brian Dozier hit a home run to begin the game. Three batters later, OF Eddie Rosario hit a 2-run-home run to give the Twins a 3-0 lead in the first inning.

After allowing two more men to reach base, the Yankees lifted starting pitcher Luis Severino after he got only one out in the game.

However, the Yankees responded, as SS Didi Gregorious tied the game with a 3-run-home run in the bottom of the first inning.

The Twins would only be able to manage one more run the rest of the way, as the Yankees added five more runs, including an OF Aaron Judge home run.

Relief pitcher David Robertson gave the Yankees a career-high 3 1/3 innings pitched out of the pen to help solidify the 8-4 victory for the Yankees.

 

NL WILD CARD GAME – Colorado Rockies v Arizona Diamondbacks

The Diamondbacks scored early and often as they were in control throughout the game against the Rockies.

1B Paul Goldschmidt hit a 3-run-home run in the first inning to give Arizona a 3-0 lead. After adding another tally in the second inning, 2B Daniel Descalso hit a 2-run-home run to give the team a 6-0 lead in the third inning.

This was another bullpen-dominated game, with Diamondbacks P Robbie Ray providing a key 2 1/3 innings of relief to help the team secure a 11-8 victory.

 

MLB Postseason Schedule

The Yankees will now face the Cleveland Indians in the ALDS beginning tonight at 7:30 p.m.

The other half of the American League playoffs will see the Boston Red Sox battle the Houston Astros. Game One of that series begins tonight a 4:30 p.m.

Arizona will move on to face the Los Angeles Dodgers in the ALDS on Friday night at 10:30 p.m.

The defending World Champion Chicago Cubs will take on the Washington Nationals at 7:30 p.m. on Friday.


The MLB Postseason will return to FOX43 next weekend, as the ALCS will begin on Friday, October 13. FOX43 will also have World Series coverage as well.

Below is the schedule for the remaining postseason games, including a broadcast schedule for FOX43:

DIVISION SERIES
Thursday, October 5
4:00 PM Red Sox-Astros
ALDS Game 1
MLBN
7:30 PM Yankees-Indians
ALDS Game 1
FS1
Friday, October 6
2:00 PM Red Sox-Astros
ALDS Game 2
FS1
5:00 PM Yankees-Indians
ALDS Game 2
MLBN
7:30 PM Cubs-Nationals
NLDS Game 1
TBS
10:30 PM Diamondbacks-Dodgers
NLDS Game 1
TBS
Saturday, October 7
5:30 PM Cubs-Nationals
NLDS Game 2
TBS
9:00 PM Diamondbacks-Dodgers
NLDS Game 2
TBS
Sunday, October 8
TBD Indians-Yankees
ALDS Game 3
FS1
TBD Astros-Red Sox
ALDS Game 3
FS1
Monday, October 9
TBD Nationals-Cubs
NLDS Game 3
TBS
TBD Dodgers-Diamondbacks
NLDS Game 3
TBS
TBD Indians-Yankees
ALDS Game 4*
FS1
TBD Astros-Red Sox
ALDS Game 4*
FS1
Tuesday, October 10
TBD Nationals-Cubs
NLDS Game 4*
TBS
TBD Dodgers-Diamondbacks
NLDS Game 4*
TBS
Wednesday, October 11
TBD Yankees-Indians
ALDS Game 5*
FS1
TBD Red Sox-Astros
ALDS Game 5*
FS1
Thursday, October 12
TBD Cubs-Nationals
NLDS Game 5*
TBS
TBD Diamondbacks-Dodgers
NLDS Game 5*
TBS
LEAGUE CHAMPIONSHIP SERIES
Friday, October 13
TBD ALCS Game 1 FS1 or
FOX
Saturday, October 14
TBD NLCS Game 1 TBS
TBD ALCS Game 2 FS1 or
FOX
Sunday, October 15
TBD NLCS Game 2 TBS
Monday, October 16
TBD ALCS Game 3 FS1 or
FOX
Tuesday, October 17
TBD NLCS Game 3 TBS
TBD ALCS Game 4 FS1 or
FOX
Wednesday, October 18
TBD NLCS Game 4 TBS
TBD ALCS Game 5* FS1 or
FOX
Thursday, October 19
TBD NLCS Game 5* TBS
Friday, October 20
TBD ALCS Game 6* FS1 or
FOX
Saturday, October 21
TBD NLCS Game 6* TBS
TBD ALCS Game 7* FS1 or
FOX
Sunday, October 22
TBD NLCS Game 7* TBS
WORLD SERIES
Tuesday, October 24
TBD WS Game 1 FOX
Wednesday, October 25
TBD WS Game 2 FOX
Friday, October 27
TBD WS Game 3 FOX
Saturday, October 28
TBD WS Game 4 FOX
Sunday, October 29
TBD WS Game 5* FOX
Tuesday, October 31
TBD WS Game 6* FOX
Wednesday, November 1
TBD WS Game 7* FOX

 

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.